Eastern States: Info for fans



One of the most competitive high school tournaments on the East Coast will be held this weekend at Sullivan Community College, with many of the top teams from Section 1 making the trip. The Eastern States Classic has become the benchmark for wrestlers with state title aspirations, and is arguably even more difficult to win than the NYS tournament in certain weight classes due to tough out-of-state competition. It will feature 1,040 bouts over the course of two days, with 132 total teams being represented. And just like last year, I’m happy to announce that I’ll be heading up to Loch Sheldrake to provide full coverage of all local wrestlers.

I’ll be previewing the tourney all week, including a list of all local wrestlers who will be competing and taking a look at which ones have the best chances to make some noise, but here is some basic information for the fans that was sent to me by tournament director Jeff Cuilty.

Tourney schedule

Friday, Jan. 10
7 a.m. – Doors open
10:40 a.m. – Preliminaries (Round of 64)
11:25 a.m. – Round of 32
3:45 p.m. – Consolation round 1 (R64/R32 losers)
4:45 p.m. – Round of 16 and consolation round 2 (R32 losers)
7:15 p.m. – Consolation round 3 (R16 losers)
Wrestling concludes at 10 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 11
8 a.m. – Doors open
9:15 a.m. – Quarterfinals and consolation round 4
11:30 a.m. – Consolation round 5 (quarterfinal losers vs. cons. R4 winners)
1 p.m. – Semis (three mats) and consolation round 6 (five mats)
2:45 p.m. – Consolation semis
4:15 p.m. – Finals (one mat) and consolation finals (four mats)
Wrestling concludes at 7 p.m.

Ticket prices
All sessions – General: $18; Under 21/Over 55: $10
Friday or Saturday only – General: $12; Under 21/Over 55: $5

Campus security and tournament staff will be strictly enforcing campus parking rules. Please only park in the designated lot, do not block any side roads and DO NOT park in any of the Fire Lanes in front of the building (or your car will be towed). We appreciate your advance cooperation.

Section 1 teams
Arlington, Beacon, Brewster, Byram Hills, Carmel, Croton-Harmon, Edgemont, Fox Lane, Horace Greeley, John Jay-CR, John Jay-EF, Mahopac, Nanuet, New Rochelle, North Rockland, Ossining, Pearl River, Putnam Valley, RC Ketcham, Scarsdale, Somers, Suffern, Tappan Zee.

Other teams (with section and division; state is listed for non-NY teams)
Addison (S5, D2); Alfred Almond (S5, D2); Amityville (S11, D1); Amsterdam (S2, D1); Bellmore (S8, D1); Benjamin Cardozo (PSAL); Brooklyn International (PSAL); Burnt Hills (S2, D1); Canastota (S3, D2); Carthage (S3, D1); Chaminade (CHSAA); Churchville-Chili (S5, D1); Clovis West (California); Colonie (S2, D1); Columbia (S2, D1); Commack (S11, D1); Cornwall (S9, D1); Curtis (PSAL); Danbury (Connecticut); Deer Park (S11, D1); Deposit-Hancock (S4, D2); Dolgeville (S3, D2); Duanesburg (S2, D2); Eagle Academy (PSAL); East Islip (S11, D1); Eastport-South Manor (S11, D1); Farmingdale (S8, D1); Fordham Prep (CHSAA); Frontier (S6, D1); Garden City (S8, D1); General Brown (S3, D2); Glens Falls (S2, D2); Gouverneur (S10, D2); Greene (S4, D2); Hackley (NYS privates); Hayfield Secondary (Virginia); Highland (S9, D2); Holland Patent (S3, D2); Hoosick Falls (S2, D2); Hudson Falls (S2, D2); Ithaca (S4, D1); James Madison (PSAL); Jamesville-Dewitt (S3, D1); John Glen (S11, D1); Johnson City (S4, D1); Kenmore West (S6, D1); Kingston (S9, D1); Lancaster (S6, D1); Lansing (S4, D2); LaSalle Institute (S2, D1); Locust Valley (S8, D2); Long Beach (S8, D1); Longwood (S11, D1); Lyndonville (S5, D2); MacArthur (S8, D1); Martin L. King (PSAL); Mepham (S8, D1); Middletown (S9, D1); Minisink Valley (S9, D1); Monroe Woodbury (S9, D1); Monsignor Farrell (CHSAA); Newark Valley (S4, D1); Newburgh (S9, D1); Newfield (S11, D1); New Hartford (S3, D1); New Paltz (S9, D2); New Utrecht (PSAL); Norwich (S4, D2); Ogdensburg (S10, D2); Oxford Academy (S4, D2); Penfield (S5, D1); Peru (S7, D2); Petrides (PSAL); Pine Bush (S9, D1); Poly Prep (NYS privates); Port Jefferson (S11, D2); Port Jervis (S9, D1); Queensburg (S2, D1); Ravena (S2, D2); Red Hook (S9, D2); Rocky Point (S11, D1); Sachem East (S11, D1); Salem (S2, D2); Schalmont (S2, D2); Shaker (S2, D1); Shenendehowa (S2, D1); Sherburne (S3, D2); Shoreham Wading River (S11, D1); Southampton (S11, D2); Southington (Connecticut); South Jefferson (S3, D2); Springfield Central (Massachusetts); St. Benedicts Prep (New Jersey); Susquehanna Valley (S4, D2); Syosset (S8, D1); Tonawanda (S6, D2); Union-Endicott (S4, D1); Valley Central (S9, D1); Wallkill (S9, D1); Walt Whitman (S11, D1); Wantagh (S8, D1); Ward Melville (S11, D1); Warsaw (S5, D2); Warwick Valley (S9, D1); Wayne (S5, D2); West Seneca (S6, D1); Whitehall-Fort Ann (S2, D2); Wingate (PSAL).

Photo by Carucha L. Meuse/The Journal News


About Author

1 Comment