Delacruz, Aslanian, Serra honored at all-Section brunch


Three major award winners were announced at Sunday’s all-Section wrestling brunch at Doral Arrowwood in Rye, with Ossining junior Alex Delacruz claiming the Division 1 Section 1 wrestler of the year honors, Edgemont senior Trey Aslanian being named the Division 1 Section 1 wrestler of the year, and Nanuet coach Carmine Serra being honored as the Section 1 coach of the year.

As the only two state champs from the section, Delacruz and Aslanian were the pretty obvious choices as the wrestlers of the year, but it doesn’t do much to solve our Westchester/Putnam wrestler of the year debate for The Journal News award. This worked out as a great way to honor both wrestlers, while Serra comes as an appropriate choice for coach of the year after leading the Golden Knights to their third consecutive D2 section championship. All wrestlers who placed in the top five in D1 were named all-Section, as well as the top two from each weight class in D2.


About Author


  1. Vincent Mercogliano on

    You’re right. There was some discussion about changing it, but it’s still the old way.

  2. This was my first sectional brunch…kudos to all the organizers, speakers, and coaches who put the time into making this event special. Congratulations to all the athletes who were recognized for a great season and to the Hall of Fame inductees! Their stories were very inspirational. Already looking forward to next season.

  3. Did the kids get their medals yet, or are they still on order.Nice plaques given out to cheap to put names on them. SECTION ONE

  4. No leg to stand on on

    Legman, the schools pay for the personalization of the plaque. Just have your son give it to his athletic director, that’s how it works.

  5. Joe Bellicci Jr. – Coach
    Bob MacClements – Referee
    Alex Cunningham – Athlete
    John Degl- Athlete/ Coach

    HOF inductees for 2013