- The Lohud Wrestling Blog - http://wrestling.lohudblogs.com -

Beacon results: Seven locals take first

Posted By Vincent Mercogliano On January 19, 2013 @ 8:24 pm In Uncategorized | Comments Disabled

Hello there. Dan DeFrancesco here checking in. I was up in Beacon today to cover the tournament. My full story will be in the paper tomorrow, but below are some notes:

-As mentioned up top, seven locals won their weight class.
-Horace Greeley’s Scott Wymbs 3-1 OT win against Kingston’s Deon Edmond in the 195-pound final not only earned him first, but also the Quakers all-time wins record. The senior, who entered the year with 87 wins, passed 2006 alum Greg Einfrank’s career-mark of 116.
-That wasn’t the only milestone of the day. Tappan Zee’s Desmond Djekovic earned his 100th win after defeating Kingston’s Dwayne Richards 13-5 in the 152 final. The achievement is even more incredible when you consider he had only seven wins as a freshman.
-Ossining’s Trent Lofaro upset Tappan Zee’s John Hartnett 7-4 in the 220 final. Lofaro, who hasn’t wrestled since Jan. 8th due to forfeits, lost to Hartnett 2-0 at the Irvington Invitational in Decemeber.
-Ossining’s 120-pounder Alex Delacruz cruised through the day, his “closest” match coming in 13-4 win against Jimmy Clark of Valley Central in the semifinals. The junior said he has already put last weekend’s biting incident behind him and is looking ahead to sectionals. While we’re on the topic, 145-pounder Steve Bencosme of Sleepy Hollow was disqualified during his semifinal match against Mark Milisci of Washingtonville for allegedly biting.
-Tappan Zee’s Mike Manni (285), Clarkstown North’s Colby Kash (138) and Byram Hills’ Jon Errico (106) rounded out the rest of the local winners.
-Really good final at 99. Arlington’s Alfredo Olmedo and Brady Robin had a great double-overtime battle. Robin, a freshman, eventually got the better of Olmedo, a junior.
-Also of note for Arlington, Nick Tolli (120) is officially done for the year. The junior will have surgery on his knee next week.
-While we are on the topic of injuries. Port Chester’s 106-pounder Kevin Rodriguez re-injured his knee during his semifinal bout with Brian Hong and was forced to drop out of the tournament. Rodriguez originally suffered the injury last weekend at the Eastern States Classic.
-Valley Central won the entire tournament, finishing with 201 points. They were followed very closely by Arlington (198) and Washingtonville (190). To be honest, it really came down to the Admirals and the Vikings. The two teams entered the finals tied, and were neck and neck until their final matches. Arlington ended up finishing with the most champions (3).

That’s it for now. Be sure to check out my story in tomorrow’s paper.

Beacon tournament
At Beacon
Team key: 1. Valley Central (VC) 201; 2. Arlington (Arl) 198; 3. Washingtonville (Ws) 190.5; 4. Clarkstown North (CN) 173; 5. Tappan Zee (TZ) 148; 6. Kingston (K) 147.5; 7. Saugerties (Sg) 132; 8. Ketcham (RCK) 123; 9. Ossining (Os) 114.5; 10. Horace Greeley (HG) 89; 11. Bryam Hills (BH) 59.5; 12. Port Chester (PC) 56.5; 13. John Jay (JJ) 53; 14. Pawling (Pw) 52; 15. Carmel© 32.5; 16. Beacon (Be) 31.5; 17. Sleepy Hollow (SH) 24; 18. North Salem (NS) 0.

99 — Alfredo Olmedo (Arl) pin Anthony Alexandrou (BH), 2:54. Brady Robin (Be) dec. Kyle Davis, 8-6. 106 — Jon Errico (BH) tech. fall Kevin Knox©, 16-0; Brian Hong (CN) inj. fall Kevin Rodriguez (PC). 113 — Travis Becker (Arl) pin Justin Hong (CN), 1:08; Gabe Campbell (VC) maj. dec. Justin Clavell (Ws), 13-1. 120 — Alex Delacruz (Os) maj. dec. Jimmy Clark (VC), 13-4; Hussain Hasan (VC) dec. Kirby Atlas (HG), 7-0. 126 — Mike Chirasello (Arl) dec. Brian Kershner (JJ), 7-4; Corey Cummings (VC) pin Diego Giron (PC), 5:49. 132 — Danny Murphy (RCK) maj. dec. Andrew Seid (CN), 9-1; Bryan Mongiello (Ws) pin Alex Lambiotte (JJ), 3:40. 138 — Colby Kash (CN) maj. dec. Erik Keenan (VC), 12-2; Noah Hovde (TZ) dec. Ben Ratner (BH), 5-2. 145 — Brad Marvin (RCK) pin John Guido (PC), 2:42; Mark Milisci (Ws) won by disqualification Steve Bencosme (SH). 152 — Desmond Djekovic (TZ) maj. dec. Luke Harrison (Ws), 15-4; Dwayne Richards (K) maj. dec. JP Ospina (SH), 14-5. 160 — Mike Peterson (Arl) maj. dec. Dave Crispino (CN), 11-1; Tyler Anderson (K) dec. Alex Munoz (Sg), 3-1. 170 — Jake Wood (K) pin Greg Lamb (Os), 5:49; Leo McCarthy (Os) pin Francesco Pichardo (Ws), 4:45. 182 — Rob Cuomo (Sg) maj. dec. Eliot Marzano (K), 10-0; Kurt Romano (TZ) dec. Rob Hanaburgh (Arl), 10-6. 195 — Deon Edmond (K) maj. dec. Billy Madigan (TZ), 12-0; Scott Wymbs (HG) dec. James Bethel (Sg), 7-3. 220 — John Hartnett (TZ) dec. Sam Weingar (Ws), 7-5. Trent Lofaro (Os) pin Matt Acevedo (Pw), 5:23. 285 — Mike Manni (TZ) pin Terrel Lawrence (Sg), 3:59; Brent Lobien (HG) dec. Chris Gage (K), 9-3.

Third place
99 — Kyle Davis (Be) dec. Anthony Alexandrou (BH), 6-2. 106 — Maxim Kutsepau (CN) pin Tyler Lynch (VC), 4:30. 113 — Justin Clavell (Ws) dec. Justin Hong (CN), 4-2. 120 — Luis Andreakis (Ws) dec. Jimmy Clark (VC), 5-1. 126 — Diego Giron (PC) dec. Mike Seligson (CN), 8-5. 132 — Osman Hasan (VC) maj. dec. Andrew Seid (CN), 15-3. 138 — Adam Ortiz (Arl) dec. Mohamed Shidid (Ws), 7-4. 145 — Rob Namme (CN) pin John Guido (PC), 4:07. 152 — Dave Emory (RCK) dec. Luke Harrison (Ws), 6-1. 160 — Dave Crispino (CN) dec. Logan Mongelli (RCK), 6-3. 170 — Greg Lamb (Os) dec. Francesco Pichardo (Ws), 11-6. 182 — Matthew Porter (VC) pin Rob Hanaburgh (Arl), 3:42. 195 — James Bethel (Sg) dec. Billy Madigan (TZ), 11-4. 220 — Sam Weingar (Ws) dec. Matt Acevedo (Pw), 3-1. 285 — Terrel Lawrence (Sg) dec. Chris Gage (K), 12-5.

99 — Brady Robin (Arl) dec. Alfredo Olmedo (Arl), 5-2, 2 OT. 106 — Jon Errico (BH) pin Brian Hong (CN), 5:05. 113 — Travis Becker (Arl) dec. Gabe Campbell (VC), 6-1. 120 — Alex Delacruz (Os) tech. fall Hussain Hasan (VC), 21-5. 126 — Corey Cummings (VC) dec. Mike Chirasello (Arl), 6-4, OT. 132 — Bryan Mongiello (Ws) dec. Danny Murphy (RCK), 5-0. 138 — Colby Kash (CN) pin Noah Hovde (TZ), 4:12. 145 — Mark Milisci (Ws) dec. Brad Marvin (RCK), 5-3. 152 — Desmond Djekovic maj. dec. Dwayne Richards, 13-5. 160 — Mike Peterson (Arl) dec. Tyler Anderson (K), 9-6. 170 — Jake Wood (K) maj. dec. Leo McCarthy (Os), 10-2. 182 — Rob Cuomo (Sg) pin Kurt Romano (TZ), 1:36. 195 — Scott Wymbs dec. Deon Edmond (K), 3-1, OT. 220 — Trent Lofaro (Os) dec. John Hartnett (TZ), 7-4. 285 — Mike Manni (TZ) dec. Brent Lobien (HG), 3-1, OT.

Article printed from The Lohud Wrestling Blog: http://wrestling.lohudblogs.com

URL to article: http://wrestling.lohudblogs.com/2013/01/19/beacon-results-seven-locals-win-titles/